The Lahr von Leitis Academy & Archive
Home  |  Contact  |  Sitemap  |  Imprint / ©
  MISSION | FOUNDERS | ADVISORS | NEWS | PROJECTS | PRESS | ARCHIVE | PISCATOR AWARD | LINKS
    deutsch english     
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Lahr von Leitis Archive
Collecting – Preserving – Remembering
 
Hugo Frank Basch
Hugo Basch
 
Hugo Frank Basch was born on March 7, 1888, in Vienna, Austria. After having finished his studies at the Technical University in Vienna he became an engineer and worked as a government surveyor of building and construction for the city of Vienna. But theatre and poetry were a passion with him. As one of the closest friends of the composer Egon Lustgarten he wrote the libretto for Lustgarten’s opera Dante im Exil.
In 1938, after Hitler’s annexation of Austria, Hugo Basch was deported to the Dachau concentration camp because of his social-democratic attitude. But General Mackensen stood up for him and insisted, that all those who had been wounded during World War I should be released from Dachau. Hugo Basch, who was injured while fighting as a lieutenant in the Carpathian Mountains, was set free, but had to leave the country within 24 hours. During this time he was forbidden to tell anyone about his experience in Dachau. The camp’s commander said to him, that once he was out of the country he could tell anything he liked, since nobody would believe any of his stories anyway.
The Quakers helped Hugo Basch, his wife Hermine and their son Peter to leave Austria. First the family went to England, and in 1940 they moved to the United States of America. Out of gratitude for the humanitarian aid which the Quakers had given to them, Hermine Basch became a Quaker herself.
In the United States, Hugo Basch subsequently continued writing and regularly published poems in English in various newspapers and magazines.
In 1950 Hugo Basch briefly considered returning to his native Austria. The city of Vienna even offered him to work in his old position. But the beginning of the Korean War ruined those ideas: Since he held several important patents in the area of aircraft technique, Hugo Basch was afraid that the Russians might arrest him in Vienna. On September 13, 1957, he died on Fire Island, New York.
 

back to list Archive

  Home  |  Contact  |  Sitemap  |  Imprint follow us on:   Find us on Facebook FORWARD on YouTube Find our books on Amazon Fadumo Korn on Wikipedia Find us on Flickr   
     
© 2012 - 2017 The Lahr von Leitis Akademie Archive   •   All rights reserved   •   last update: 17.12.2012   •   provided by: Agentur AraArt

The Lahr von Leitis Academy & Archive
Home  |  Kontakt  |  Sitemap  |  Impressum / ©
  ZIELE | GRÜNDER | KURATORIUM | NEWS | ANGEBOTE | PRESSE | ARCHIV  | PISCATOR PREIS | LINKS
    deutsch english      
 
 
 
 
 
 
Das Lahr von Leitis Archive
Sammeln – Bewahren – Erinnern
 
Hugo Frank Basch
Hugo Basch
 
Hugo Frank Basch wurde am 7. März 1888 in Wien geboren. Nach dem Studium an der Technischen Hochschule in Wien wurde er Ingenieur und arbeitete als Baurat bei der Stadt Wien, doch seine Leidenschaft galt der Poesie und dem Theater. Als einer der engsten Freunde von Egon Lustgarten schrieb er das Libretto für Lustgartens Oper Dante im Exil. 
1938 nach dem „Anschluß“ Österreichs wurde Basch wegen seiner sozialdemokratischen Haltung nach Dachau deportiert. Doch General Mackensen setzte sich für ihn ein und bestand darauf, daß Verwundete des Ersten Weltkrieges entlassen werden sollten. Hugo Basch, der als Leutnant in den Karpaten verletzt worden war, wurde entlassen, mußte aber innerhalb von 24 Stunden das Land verlassen. Während dieser Zeit mußte er strengstes Stillschweigen darüber bewahren, was er in Dachau erlebt hatte. Jenseits der Grenzen könne er alles erzählen, was er wolle – so die Lagerleitung von Dachau – da man ihm ohnehin nichts von alledem glauben werde.
Die Quäker ermöglichten Hugo Basch, seiner Frau Hermine und ihrem Sohn Peter die Ausreise aus Österreich. Zuerst gelangte die Baschs nach England, 1940 übersiedelte die Familie weiter in die Vereinigten Staaten. Aus Dankbarkeit für die von den Quäkern erhaltene humanitäre Hilfe schloß sich Baschs Frau den Quäkern an.
Auch in den USA verfolgte Basch konsequent seine Leidenschaft als Schriftsteller und veröffentlichte regelmäßig Gedichte in englischer Sprache in diversen Zeitschriften und Magazinen.
1950 trug sich Basch kurzzeitig mit dem Gedanken, nach Österreich zurückzukehren. Die Stadt Wien hatte ihm sogar seine alte Position als Oberbaurat wieder angeboten. Doch der Beginn des Korea-Krieges machte diese Pläne zunichte. Hugo Basch, der wichtige Patente auf dem Gebiet der Flugzeugtechnik hielt, hatte Angst, er könne in Wien von den Russen gefangengesetzt werden. Am 13. September 1957 starb er auf Fire Island im Bundesstaat New York.
 

zurück zur Übersicht Archiv

  Home  |  Kontakt  |  Sitemap  |  Impressum follow us on:   Find us on Facebook FORWARD on YouTube Find our books on Amazon Fadumo Korn on Wikipedia Find us on Flickr   
     
© 2012 - 2017 The Lahr von Leitis Akademie Archive   •   All rights reserved   •   last update: 07.02.2013   •   provided by: Agentur AraArt