The Lahr von Leitis Academy & Archive
Home  |  Contact  |  Sitemap  |  Imprint / ©
  MISSION | FOUNDERS | ADVISORS | NEWS | PROJECTS | PRESS | ARCHIVE | PISCATOR AWARD | LINKS
    deutsch english      
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Lahr von Leitis Archive
Collecting – Preserving – Remembering
 
Libertas Schulze-Boysen
Libertas Schulze-Boysen
 
Libertas Schulze-Boysen was born in 1913 in Paris as the youngest daughter of Otto Haas-Heye and Countess Victoria zu Eulenburg-Hertefeld. She grew up on Liebenberg, the estate of her grandfather in Brandenburg, outside Berlin.
In 1921, her parents divorced. Her father, Otto Haas-Heye, worked as a professor of art at the Kunstgewerbeschule (School for Applied Arts) in Berlin, which was housed in Prinz-Albrecht-Strasse No. 8. Later the building became the headquarters of the Gestapo. Otto Haas-Heye sent his daughter to attend the lyceum in Zurich, where she got her university-entrance diploma in March of 1932.
Immediately following her diploma, Libertas lived for nine months in England. In 1933 she was hired as press assistant at the Berlin office of the film company Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.
In the summer of 1934, she met Harro Schulze-Boysen while sailing. In July of 1936 Harro and Libertas got married. After their marriage, Libertas continued working mainly as a journalist. She also did translations for her husband. From November 1941 on, she was employed at the Deutsche Kulturzentrale (German Central Office for Culture).
On September 8, 1942, Libertas Schulze-Boysen was arrested in Berlin. During her three months in prison she wrote some very moving poems. The gravity and sober language of those poems forms a stark contrast to the somewhat naïve, childlike and light-hearted poems of the young Libertas. These poems along with Libertas’s letters to her mother, show the enormous maturity, calmness and wisdom of the 29-year-old in the face of death and are a grand testimony of humanity and dignity. On December 22, 1942, Libertas Schulze-Boysen was executed by the Nazi-Regime.
Libertas Schulze-Boysen and her husband Harro, along with Arvid Harnack and his wife Mildred (who was an American), formed the nucleus of the so-called “Red Orchestra”, a resistance group fighting Hitler and his regime. The “Red Orchestra” was one of the biggest and most diverse resistance groups: women and men, Christians and Marxists, workers, intellectuals and artists, they all gathered in this group, united by their opposition to the Nazi Regime. For years they helped German Jews and political dissidents to escape and also provided vital intelligence to both the US and Russia. In the summer of 1942 the Gestapo discovered their activities and arrested over 100 members of the group. More of 50 of them were sentenced to death and executed, among them Libertas Schulze-Boysen.
After 1945 the historical contributions of the “Red Orchestra” were discussed very controversially and its achievements were often falsely labeled as pro-communist. Starting in the early 90’s the access to hitherto inaccessible documents in archives in Prague and Moscow helped to correct and re-write the history of Libertas Schulze-Boysen and her circle.
 

back to list Archive

  Home  |  Contact  |  Sitemap  |  Imprint follow us on:   Find us on Facebook FORWARD on YouTube Find our books on Amazon Fadumo Korn on Wikipedia Find us on Flickr   
     
© 2012 - 2017 The Lahr von Leitis Akademie Archive   •   All rights reserved   •   last update: 17.12.2012   •   provided by: Agentur AraArt

The Lahr von Leitis Academy & Archive
Home  |  Kontakt  |  Sitemap  |  Impressum / ©
  ZIELE | GRÜNDER | KURATORIUM | NEWS | ANGEBOTE | PRESSE | ARCHIV  | PISCATOR PREIS | LINKS
    deutsch english      
 
 
 
 
 
 
Das Lahr von Leitis Archive
Sammeln – Bewahren – Erinnern
 
Libertas Schulze-Boysen
Libertas Schulze-Boysen
 
Libertas Schulze-Boysen wurde 1913 in Paris als jüngste Tochter von Otto Haas-Heye und Gräfin Victoria zu Eulenburg Hertefeld geboren und wuchs auf dem großväterlichen Gut Liebenberg in der Mark Brandenburg auf.
1921 war die Ehe der Eltern geschieden worden. Der Vater, Otto Haas-Heye, arbeitete als Kunstprofessor an der Berliner Kunstgewerbeschule in der Prinz-Albrecht-Straße 8, der späteren Gestapo-Zentrale. Er ermöglichte der Tochter einen Besuch des Mädchen-Lyzeums in Zürich, wo sie im März 1932 ihr Abitur ablegte.
Nach dem Abitur lebte sie ein dreiviertel Jahr in England. 1933 wurde die lebenslustige und ausdrucksgewandte junge Frau von der Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Filmgesellschaft in Berlin als Presseassistentin eingestellt.
Im Sommer 1934 lernte sie Harro Schulze-Boysen beim Segeln kennen. Im Juli 1936 heirateten Harro und Libertas. Berufstätig blieb Libertas auch als Ehefrau. Sie arbeitete vorwiegend journalistisch und half ihrem Mann bei Übersetzungen. Zuletzt, ab November 1941, hatte sie eine feste Anstellung bei der Deutschen Kulturzentrale.
Am 8. September 1942 wurde Libertas Schulze-Boysen in Berlin verhaftet. Während der drei Monate im Gefängnis entstanden eindrucksvolle Gedichte, die sich von den kindlich-unbeschwerten, bisweilen naiv anmutenden Gedichten der jugendlichen Libertas durch ihren Ernst und ihre schlichte Sprache absetzen. Die Gedichte zusammen mit den Briefen an die Mutter zeichnen das Bild einer 29jährigen Frau, die angesichts der übermächtigen Nazi-Apparatur und ihres sicheren Todesurteiles eine unglaubliche Reife, Gelassenheit und Weisheit an den Tag legt. Am 22. Dezember 1942 wird Libertas Schulze-Boysen hingerichtet.
Das Ehepaar Harro und Libertas Schulze-Boysen bildete mit dem Ehepaar Arvid und Mildred Harnack (sie war übrigens eine Amerikanerin) den Kern der von den Nationalsozialisten sogenannten „Roten Kapelle“, einer Widerstandsorganisation, die sich aus sehr vielen Mitgliedern zusammensetzte. Das offene Miteinander des anfangs kleinen Kreises um die Ehepaare Schulze-Boysen und Harnack zog die unterschiedlichsten Menschen an und vereinte sie: Frauen und Männer, Junge und Alte, Christen und Marxisten, Arbeiter, Intellektuelle und Künstler. Sie alle einte ihre Gegnerschaft zum Nazi-Regime. Als Gestapo und Spionageabwehr im Sommer 1942 die Aktivitäten der Gruppe entdeckten, wurden innerhalb weniger Monate über 100 Mitglieder verhaftet. Über 50 von ihnen wurden vom Reichskriegsgericht zum Tode verurteilt und hingerichtet. Nach 1945 war die Geschichte der „Roten Kapelle“ heftig umstritten und wurde vielfach verfälscht dargestellt und verkürzt als pro-sowjetisch und kommunistisch. Erst der Zugang zu bislang unzugänglichen Materialien in Archiven in Prag und Moskau ab Anfang der 1990er Jahre trug dazu bei, die Arbeit der Widerstandsgruppe Schulze-Boysen / Harnack differenziert darzustellen.
 

zurück zur Übersicht Archiv

  Home  |  Kontakt  |  Sitemap  |  Impressum follow us on:   Find us on Facebook FORWARD on YouTube Find our books on Amazon Fadumo Korn on Wikipedia Find us on Flickr   
     
© 2012 - 2017 The Lahr von Leitis Akademie Archive   •   All rights reserved   •   last update: 07.02.2013   •   provided by: Agentur AraArt